Miss Invisible

In 2004, a fresh face with a sweet but powerful voice and a story to tell the world won the Pantene Pro-Voice concert with this heartfelt song, “Miss Invisible”. As a plump child growing up of mixed heritage, Maria Digby struggled for acceptance almost all her life. This song was her plea for more acceptance and less judgment in the world today. It’s a song that is very dear to her, she says, because it’s not just a song; it’s her story about life in junior high school (secondary school) just trying so hard to accept herself and to be accepted. I sincerely hope this song will be a source of comfort for some of you the way it has been for me :). Because deep inside, at the end of a long and tiring day, perhaps, all we really need is to know that we’re not alone and that someone truly understands.

“Miss Invisible” lyrics:

Verse 1:

There’s a girl
Who sits under the bleachers
Just another day eating alone
And though she smiles
There is something she’s hiding
And she can’t find a way to relate
She just goes unnoticed
As the crowd passes by
And she’ll pretend to be busy
When inside she just wants to cry
She’ll say…

Chorus:

Take a little look at the life of Miss Always Invisible
Look a little closer, I really really want you to put yourself in her shoes
Take another look at the face of Miss Always Invisible
Look a little harder and maybe then you will see why she waits for the day
When you’ll ask her her name

Verse 2:

In the beginning, in the first weeks of class
She did everything to try and fit in
But the others they couldnt seem to get past all the things that mismatched on the surface
And she would close her eyes when they laughed and she fell down the stairs
And the more that they joked
And the more that they screamed
She retreated to where she is now
And she’ll sing…

And one day just the same as the last
Just the days spent in counting the time
Came a boy who sat under the bleachers just a little bit further behind…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 Responses to “Miss Invisible”

  1. amal Says:

    gosh I know how that feels to be accepted . I realize in the end stop trying to be accepted and just learnt to be ‘you’ , and socialize and be confident and meet people like ‘you’

  2. notjustskindeep Says:

    *hugs* Glad you could relate to this song, Amal :)). So true so true. That we all try to be accepted at some point of time or another but in the end we realize that we can’t control whether we’re accepted but we can control whether we’re being true to ourselves :)).

  3. weirdcharacter Says:

    OMG !
    this song really touches my heart. And it really tell the world what i feel about myself. THANKS ALOT FOR UPLOADING ! Her voice is sweet and strong enough. Thanks alot for letting me know about this really nice song!
    THANKS ! 😀

    Hope you can upload more nice songs. And all your posts really touches me as you share your story with us. And i am encourage by your post ! Hope you can share more posts.
    God Bless 🙂

  4. Maryam Says:

    The lyrics of this song are so beautiful. It really touched the deepest root of my heart, I felt bad for all those poor girls who must have gone through it.
    I am happy about one thing though, In my school/college days, I havent left any girl alone. It was(and still is) to give company to the one who remains always isolated. I was with them, in any way possible. I aint boasting, but thats true … 🙂

  5. nopoint Says:

    This song is really beautiful. Its really sad to hear the story of Maria Digby, but she looks very beautiful, and her powerful voice really touches the deep end of my heart.

  6. notjustskindeep Says:

    Hey weirdcharacter!!!

    Really glad my posts are a source of inspiration for you!!! Do continue to pop by to share your opinions and thoughts okie? Because I really appreciate more feedback so I can continue to improve this blog… At the end of the day, this isn’t just a blog for myself. I truly hope that it can reach out to many people and make a difference! And most of all, be a voice for many :))

    I will take note of your feedback to post more inspirational and nice songs… :)))

  7. notjustskindeep Says:

    Hey Maryam!!!

    Glad you liked the song!! :)) I commend you for your empathy and sensitivity in never allowing anybody to feel alienated and excluded. I’m sure you will be rewarded for your kindness, Maryam! Do pop by more often to share your views and opinions, yar?

  8. notjustskindeep Says:

    Hey nopoint!!!

    Yes, she is beautiful isn’t she? I guess that sure does show us one thing – that sometimes, we’re our own worst enemy! We may condemn ourselves thinking that we’re not as beautiful as we would like to be but really, to others, we’re amazingly beautiful! I know Maria Digby’s story is sad but the happy ending is that she has triumphed over it and now reaches out to others like herself to make a difference. :)) I guess that’s the amazing thing about pain.. It heals and goes on to heal others. :))

  9. miss invisible lyrics Says:

    […] There??s a girl Who sits under the bleachers Just another day eating alone And though she smiles …https://notjustskindeep.wordpress.com/2008/05/15/miss-invisible/INVISIBLE Lyrics – TAYLOR SWIFTHome ? Song lyrics ? T ? Taylor Swift lyrics ? invisible lyrics […]

  10. fan Says:

    Marie was plump as a child? I didn’t know that. More reason to love her. Cause I was plump too!

  11. Saleh Says:

    thanks alot 😉

Leave a Reply

